Foods allowed, foods to question, & foods to avoid

  1. Dr.Schär Institute
  2. Dr. Schär Institute
  3. Foods allowed, foods to question, & foods to avoid
Fisch Fleisch Milchprodukte Obst Gemüse

A gluten-free diet is the only treatment for celiac disease. While the diet can be a prescription for health, wheat and gluten are ubiquitous ingredients in our food supply. Maintaining a gluten-free diet can be challenging and requires knowledge of ingredients, food preparation and label reading.

Individuals on a gluten-free diet can enjoy a variety of naturally gluten-free foods as well as many manufactured gluten-free products. There are many manufactured gluten-free products specially designed to fill the nutritional needs of the individual as well as provide a safe gluten-free substitute for their usual food preferences. Manufactured gluten-free foods should be labeled as gluten-free or carry a gluten-free symbol or certification. Manufacturers can use the symbol of the ear of wheat with a cross through it.
Careful label reading and avoiding any cross contamination is vital as traces of gluten may be present in various products; such, as food additives, flavorings and filling or binding agents, even medications may contain gluten.


Gluten-free diet


Gluten-free diet Foods allowed Foods to check Foods to avoid
Grains Corn, rice, millet, buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth, tapioca, cassava, Gluten-free oats Convenience foods (e.g. mashed potatoes, rice mixes), crisps, breakfast cereals Wheat, barley, rye, spelled, triticale, spelled, kamut, green rye, bulgur, couscous, contaminated oats. Any breads, pasta, batters, cakes, pastries, crackers or biscuits, etc. made from these grains
Fruit All fruits Dried and candied fruits, smoothies, fruits in sauces
Vegetables All vegetables Vegetables in sauces or gravies, dried vegetables, vegetarian convenience foods Vegetables that have been breaded, coated in flour or batter, vegetables served with added seasonings or sauces
Dairy products Milk (all types), cream, most yogurt, cheese, most ice cream Flavored milks/shakes, yogurts/ice cream with toppings/added ingredients, processed cheese, cheese spreads, cheese sauces, ready-grated cheese Malted milk drinks
Meat, fish, poultry, and eggs All types of plain fresh or frozen meat or fish, poultry, eggs, pulses and lentils, peanut butter, plain nuts and seeds, plain tofu Processed meats (sausages, burgers, luncheon meat, imitation fish products, meat substitutes, dried meat), meat served with sauces/ gravies, baked beans, seasoned or dry roasted nuts and seeds, flavored tofu, tempeh, miso Meat fish or poultry in batter/bread crumbs
Fats, spices, sauces and baking ingredients Vegetable oils, butter, margarine, lard, vinegar, pure spices, salt, pepper, herbs, all vinegar (including malt vinegar), Worcestershire sauces Soy sauce, prepared mustards, seasoning mixes, baking sprays, tomato sauce, salad cream and dressings, chutney, gravy granules, curry powder, packet or jarred sauces. Sauces thickened with wheat flour (e.g roux, Béchamel sauce)
Sweets and sweeteners Honey, sugar (brown, white), agave, confectioners’ sugar, corn syrup, molasses, sugar substitutes, jam, jellies, marmalade Chocolate and sweets Licorice, ice cream wafers
Beverages Soft drinks (e.g. cola and lemonade), coffee, tea, pure fruit and vegetable juice and juice drinks, distilled alcohol (bourbon, gin, rum, whisky) liqueurs, port, sherry, wine, gluten free beer/lager, cider Hot chocolate mixes, cloudy fizzy drinks, coffee whitener Beer, ale, stout, lager, barley water/squash, malted milk drinks
Please note that this list is not exhaustive


  1. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  2. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Gluten- Free Diet.