A gluten-free diet must avoid all foods that are produced from cereals containing gluten. Cereals which contain gluten include wheat, rye, barley, spelt, Kamut, unripe spelt grain and triticale. There is, however, a whole range of foods available that are naturally gluten-free – from fruit and vegetables through to milk, cheese, meat and fish. Potatoes and pulses such as beans and lentils, and also vegetable oils and fats are also naturally gluten-free. There are also cereals which do not contain gluten and can enrich a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free cereals include, for example, maize, rice, buckwheat and millet. These cereals are used to produce the gluten-free special products which are a wonderful alternative to conventional cereal products.
Dr. Schär has now been producing special gluten-free foods for over 30 years. From breakfast cereals, bread and pasta through to biscuits, cakes and frozen meals – gluten-free variations of all those foods which normally would contain gluten are now available from Dr. Schär, guaranteeing a mouth-watering experience even without gluten!
With its brands Schär, DS-glutenfree,Glutafin and Beiker, Dr. Schär is a market leader in gluten-free food products.